Whitmarsh becomes FOTA chairman

The Formula One Teams’ Association (FOTA) has announced McLaren’s Martin Whitmarsh as their new chairman, in a raft of changes within the body prior to the start of the 2010 season.

Whitmarsh replaces Ferrari president Luca di Montezemolo at the head of the organisation, with the Scuderia’s current team prinicpal Stefano Domenicali elected as vice chairman.

Red Bull’s Christian Horner will assume the role of chairman of the Sporting Regulations Working Group, while Mercedes GP’s Ross Brawn remains chairman of the Technical Regulations Working Group.

“All members placed on record their thanks to Luca di Montezemolo for his valuable leadership and remarkable contribution in the successful establishment of FOTA, as well as all the other key figures who contributed greatly to a successful first year,” read a statement released by FOTA

“FOTA Teams now look forward to working with Martin Whitmarsh to continue the development of activities in the long-term interest of Formula One, in collaboration with all other stakeholders.

“Each member of the association, which now includes all Teams competing in Formula One, is entitled to appoint one representative within the Executive Committee and within each of the standing Working Groups. The different bodies work closely together in order to define FOTA’s objectives and initiatives.”

Most Popular

To Top