Kimi tops the timesheets

Kimi Raikkonen is carrying on the top form that took him to his second win of the season last weekend, topping the timesheets at the second practice session for the British Grand Prix.

The morning was rainy for the GP2 practice, but had dried out in time for the Formula 1 cars, although dark clouds hung overhead.

Heikki Kovalainen was the first to take an off-road trip, taking a trip through the gravel at Priory before making his way back on-track at Brooklands. Raikkonen’s performance wasn’t too hopeful early on as he managed to take a detour at Copse three times in the first hour of practice. Takuma Sato was another one taking in the scenery as he exited Becketts too quickly, coming unstuck for Chapel. Towards the end of the session, Sutil  had a big crash into the tyre barrier at Copse leaving yellow flags waving for a full 7 minutes.

Raikkonen improved later in the session to top the timesheets, a full half a second ahead of his team mate Felipe Massa. Ralf Schumacher surprised many in the paddock, clocking the third fastest time of the session. Hamilton managed fourth, with Alonso sitting back in sixth. Time will tell as to whether the Ferrari’s can hold onto their apparent speed advantage over the McLaren’s across the entire race weekend.

With a lot of drivers going off-track during the practice sessions, it looks like being an exciting race weekend.

Times for Silverstone Practice Session 2
01 K. Räikkönen Ferrari 1:20.639 35 laps
2 F. Massa Ferrari 1:21.138 30 laps
3 R. Schumacher Toyota 1:21.381 34 laps
4 L. Hamilton McLaren 1:21.381 39 laps
5 J. Trulli Toyota 1:21.467 35 laps
6 F. Alonso McLaren 1:21.616 35 laps
7 N. Rosberg Williams 1:21.619 40 laps
8 A. Wurz Williams 1:21.650 37 laps
9 M. Webber Red Bull 1:22.137 31 laps
10 A. Davidson Super Aguri 1:22.143 40 laps
11 H. Kovalainen Renault 1:22.189 42 laps
12 G. Fisichella Renault 1:22.257 39 laps
13 R. Kubica BMW 1:22.372 41 laps
14 D. Coulthard Red Bull 1:22.428 23 laps
15 N. Heidfeld BMW 1:22.486 34 laps
16 T. Sato Super Aguri 1:22.487 38 laps
17 R. Barrichello Honda 1:22.511 39 laps
18 C. Klien Honda 1:22.833 45 laps
19 S. Speed Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:22.840 42 laps
20 V. Liuzzi Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:23.105 35 laps
21 C. Albers Spyker F1 1:23.113 35 laps
22 A. Sutil Spyker F1 1:23.720 30 laps

Most Popular

To Top