Williams set the pace in final practice

rosbergThe Williams F1 team topped the timesheets in the final practice session before qualifying for the British Grand Prix with Nico Rosberg heading teammate Kazuki Nakjima by two tenths of a second.

A damp Silverstone circuit meant the drivers were lapping over two seconds slower than they were on Friday and the timesheet is unlikely to be a true reflection of the pecking order as teams experimented with different fuel loads ahead of the all crucial qualifying hour.

Nevertheless, Williams look set for a strong qualifying session after a late flyer from Nico Rosberg, most likely on low fuel, saw the German edge out Nakjima for the top spot.

Jarno Trulli lapped third quickest ahead of Friday pacesetter Sebastian Vettel – the man Jenson Button and Brawn GP fear most this weekend.

Ferrari showed signs of improvement with Felipe Massa and Kimi Raikkonen lining up in fifth and sixth, while championship leader Jenson Button had another low key session in twelfth.

Lewis Hamilton is bracing himself for another challenging qualifying hour as he continued to struggle for pace around the Northamptonshire circuit. A mistake at Stowe saw the McLaren driver run wide over the grass and he ended the session eleventh.

The racing at Silverstone continues to be overshadowed by the row between the FIA and the Formula One Teams Association (FOTA) over next year’s rules. Further crisis meetings between the two parties will be held today and Formula One Supremo Bernie Ecclestone is expected to play a key role in brokering the discussions..

1       Nico Rosberg            Williams        1:18.899
2       Kazuki Nakajima         Williams        0:00.203
3       Jarno Trulli            Toyota          0:00.226
4       Sebastian Vettel        Red Bull        0:00.472
5       Felipe Massa            Ferrari         0:00.697
6       Kimi Räikkönen          Ferrari         0:00.956
7       Timo Glock              Toyota          0:00.969
8       Fernando Alonso         Renault         0:01.018
9       Rubens Barrichello      Brawn           0:01.129
10      Mark Webber             Red Bull        0:01.147
11      Lewis Hamilton          McLaren         0:01.149
12      Jenson Button           Brawn           0:01.258
13      Nelson Piquet           Renault         0:01.333
14      Sebastien Bourdais      Toro Rosso      0:01.560
15      Adrian Sutil            Force India     0:01.649
16      Giancarlo Fisichella    Force India     0:01.673
17      Heikki Kovalainen       McLaren         0:01.729
18      Nick Heidfeld           BMW             0:01.797
19      Sebastien Buemi         Toro Rosso      0:02.125
20      Robert Kubica           BMW             0:02.149

Most Popular

To Top