Lead Articles

Vettel denies Webber home pole position

Sebastian Vettel denied Mark Webber a dream Pole Position on home soil, as Red Bull Racing locked out the front row of the grid in Australia.

Although Webber had looked favourite to top the times in front of his adoring fans, the Australian had no answer to his young team-mates’s pace and had a settle for second.

Vettel’s lap can only be described as extraordinary, with the young German forced to wrestle with his car throughout his pace-setting lap.

The only man to come anywhere near the Red Bull cars was Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso, who finished just under two tenths shy of pole. This was in contrast to the remainder of those in the top-ten shootout who were around six tenths of a second adrift.

Jenson Button was fourth for McLaren as his team-mate, Lewis Hamilton, suffered a disastrous qualifying session and was eliminated in Q2 as his tyres wore away.

“I wasn’t fast enough,” Hamilton told the BBC after qualifying. “I feel I got everything out of the car, I just really didn’t have any more grip out of the tyres.

“Basically my first run I got a lot of traffic so I wasn’t able to do a lap. So then I came in early – went back out early – and traffic was very difficult out there but I had a clear lap, just wasn’t able to get…”

Nico Rosberg once again outpaced his illustrious team-mate in sixth, however this time the gap was not as substantial as in Bahrain, with Michael Schumacher around a tenth shy in seventh.

Robert Kubica and Adrian Sutil once more underlined their pace and managed to creep into the top-ten shootout.

Meanwhile Heikki Kovalainen was the fastest of the new teams, in nineteenth, with team-mate Jarno Trulli right behind him. It was also a much improved day for Hispania with Senna and Chandhok managing to lap within six seconds of the outright pace in Q1 and within a second of Timo Glock’s faster Virgin in 21st.

Pos Driver      Team                Time
1.  Vettel      Red Bull            1:23.919
2.  Webber      Red Bull            1:24.035
3.  Alonso      Ferrari             1:24.111
4.  Button      McLaren             1:24.675
5.  Massa       Ferrari             1:24.837
6.  Rosberg     Mercedes Grand Prix 1:24.884
7.  Schumacher  Mercedes Grand Prix 1:24:927
8.  Barrichello Williams            1:25.217
9.  Kubica      Renault             1:25.372
10. Sutil       Force India F1      1:26.036

Eliminated in Q2.

11. Hamilton    McLaren             1:25.184
12. Buemi       Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:25.638
13. Liuzzi      Force India F1      1:25.743
14. de la Rosa  Sauber              1:25.747
15. Hulkenberg  Williams            1:25.748
16. Kobayashi   Sauber              1:25.777
17. Alguersuari Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:26.089

Eliminated in Q3.

18. Petrov      Renault             1:26.471
19. Kovalainen  Lotus F1            1:28.797
20. Trulli      Lotus F1            1:29.111
21. Glock       Virgin Racing       1:29.592
22. Di Grassi   Virgin Racing       1:30.185
23. Senna       HRT                 1:30.526
24. Chandhok    HRT                 1:30.613

Most Popular

To Top