Testing – Day 2 round-up

Ferrari and Toro Rosso continued to test at the Mugello track yesterday. Scott Speed was testing for the Toro Rosso team, his first outing in the car since his public outburst against his team bosses. Speed completed 42 laps of the track looking at the set-up of the car as well as working on the braking system and some aerodynamic updates. Speed was unable to complete as many laps as had been hoped as the car had an electrical fault in the morning and a coolant leak in the afternoon. Luca Badoer was over 2 seconds faster than Speed. Badoer covered 82 laps in the Ferrari, working with some new mechanical and aerodynamic parts.

Over at Jerez, McLaren continued their dominance with Hamilton topping the timesheets, despite having some bruising thanks to his high speed crash during qualifying at the weekend. Test driver Pedro de la Rosa was prepped around lunchtime to replace Hamilton, who was complaining of some chest soreness, however after lunch, Hamilton felt better and continued with his work. The McLaren team tested out some new aerodynamic parts, with more scheduled to arrive for the test session on Thursday.

Toyota continued their good form with Schumacher coming in second fastest. Unlike Montagny the day before, Schumacher tested the car with traction control turned on and completed some electronics testing for the team. Williams test driver Kazuki Nakajima was third quickest, just 0.044 seconds slower than Schumacher. Robert Kubica finished in fourth and was the only driver to stop on-track, a few minutes after testing began. Mechanics were able to get his car running again and he completed the day with no further problems.

Honda power came bottom of the timesheets with James Rossiter s Super Aguri finishing seventh and Rubens Barrichello s Honda finishing last, nearly two seconds down on Lewis Hamilton.

Unofficial times for Testing at Jerez Day 2

Pos  Driver        Team                    Time       Laps
 1.  Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes     1:19.670    96
 2.  R.Schumacher  Toyota               1:20.540    73
 3.  Nakajima      Williams-Toyota      1:20.588    86
 4.  Kubica        BMW-Sauber           1:20.709   104
 5.  Kovalainen    Renault              1:20.881   104
 6.  Webber        Red Bull-Renault     1:21.071    77
 7.  Rossiter      Super Aguri-Honda    1:21.315    96
 8.  Barrichello   Honda                1:21.444    80