Stewards Clarify Qualifying Positions

Following qualifying it appeared to the pit lane, international media and race audiences that the stewards had demoted David Coulthard to sixteenth position for blocking Renault’s Heikki Kovalainen during Q2. However, it has now been announced that the Scot will now start from thirteenth on the grid, demoting Kovalainen to fifteenth.

If you’re as confused as we are here as, here are the current provisional qualifying positions for tomorrow’s race (we’ll let you know if they change again…)

1. ALONSO (Mclaren)
2. HAMILTON (McLaren)
3. MASSA (Ferrari)
4. FISICHELLA (Renault)
5. ROSBERG (Williams)
6. WEBBER (Red Bull)
10. BUTTON (Honda)
11. WURZ (Williams)
12. LIUZZI (Toro Rosso)
13. COULTHARD (Red Bull)
14. TRULLI (Toyota)
15. KOVALAINEN (Renault)
16. RAIKKONEN (Ferrari)
17. DAVIDSON (Super Aguri)
18. SPEED (Toro Rosso)
19. SUTIL (Spyker)
20. SCHUMACHER (Toyota)
21. SATO (Super Aguri)
22. ALBERS (Spyker)