Schumacher Wins Gold at FIA Gala

Michael Schumacher was presented the FIA Academy Gold Medal at the end of star-studded ceremony in Monaco last night. The seven-times World Champion, and new Super-Assistant at Ferrari, picked up the award at the FIA Gala, an annual event to celebrate contribution in FIA Competition.

“I have received a huge amount of joy and pleasure from motorsport. To all of you and all of the people everywhere I really want to express my thanks,” said the German. “I have had such a love for this sport, it doesn t need motivation. You do it as good as you can and luckily I have a lot of great people around me who have allowed me to achieve what we have achieved together.”

Despite being the runner-up in 2006, Schumacher was awarded the medal by FIA President Max Mosley and Formula One Management President Bernie Ecclestone during the final presentation on stage in the Salle des Etoiles at the Monaco Sporting Club. According to the FIA’s official press release, the medal is awarded to “an individual that, either through exceptional success, or outstanding effort, has made a substantial contribution to motor racing.”

Commenting on the award, Max Mosley said “it s a career that has never been equalled in the past and probably never will be in the future. In addition to his extraordinary achievements on the track I have to say Michael has helped us enormously with all sorts of work on road safety all over the world.” Meanwhile Ecclestone described Michael as a superstar, “all sports need a superstar and Michael is a superstar. Michael s achievements speak for themselves so I don t really need to say anything more about them. But what they don t say is what a lovely guy Michael is and he is supported by a really lovely family. He s a lucky guy and I wish him all the best in the future.”

In addition to Michael’s award, his championship rival of 2006, Fernando Alonso picked up his second consecutive FIA Formula One World Championship drivers trophy.
“This is my last official event with Renault [before joining McLaren] and after a fantastic relationship now is the perfect point to finish, being World Champion again in both constructors and drivers championships. I feel very happy with my career with Renault and now I start a new challenge”, said the twenty-five year old.
Renault team boss Flavio Briatore also received a trophy for winning the constructors championship. “This is the best”, said the charismatic Italian. “I am pleased for Renault, I m pleased for the team and especially for the sport because it was good to see a very intense fight with Ferrari. It was a great season.”
Drivers and Teams from other motorsport categories were also recognised, including the Winner of the World Rally Championship (WRC), Sébastien Loeb, and World Touring Car Champion (WTCC), Andy Priaulx, along with other FIA championships ranging from Autocross to Drag Racing.

This is the extensive ‘List of Champions’ from the 2006 FIA Gala
FIA Academy Gold Medal
Michael Schumacher (GER)

FIA Formula One World Championship
1st: Fernando Alonso (SP)
2nd: Michael Schumacher (GER)
3rd: Felipe Massa (Brazil)
Manufacturer: Renault

Formula One Promotional Trophies
Broadcaster: FOM TV
Promoter: Brazilian Grand Prix

FIA World Rally Championship
1st: Sébastien Loeb (FRA) / Daniel Elena (MON)
2nd: Marcus Grönholm (FIN) / Timo Rautiainen (FIN)
3rd: Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) / Jarmo Lehtinen (FIN)
Manufacturer: Ford

FIA Junior World Rally Championship (for Drivers)
Driver: Patrick Sandell (SWE)

FIA Production Cars World Rally Championship (for Drivers)
Driver: Nasser Saleh Al-Attiyah (QTR)

FIA World Touring Car Championship
1st: Andy Priaulx (GB)
2nd: Jörg Müller (GER)
3rd: Augusto Farfus (BRA)
Manufacturer: BMW

FIA GT Championship
GT1 Drivers: Michael Bartels (GER) / Andrea Bertolini (ITA)
GT1 Team: Vitaphone Racing Team
GT1 Manufacturer: Aston Martin
GT2: Drivers: Jaime Melo (BRA)
GT2 Team: AF Corse
GT2 Manufacturer: Ferrari
GT3 Drivers: Sean Edwards (GB)
GT3 Team: Tech 9 Motorsport

FIA Alternative Energies Cup
Cup: Giuliana Mazzoni (ITA)
Manufacturer: Tanesini (ITA)
Category I: Ashiya University Research (JAP)
Category IIIA: Giuliano Mazzoni (ITA)
Category V + Calss 1: Luca Borella (ITA)
Category IV: Thomas Betti (ITA)
Category VI: Claudio Naldi (ITA)

FIA European Championship for Autocross Drivers
D1 Driver: Helmut Wild (GER)
D3 Driver: Petr Batros (CZE)
D3A Driver: Petr Turek (CZE)
Nation: Czech Republic

FIA European Drag Racing Championship
Top Fuel Driver: Hakan Nilsson (SWE)
Top Methonal Driver: Dave Wilson (GB)
Pro Stock Driver: Jimmy Alund (SWE)
Top Methanol Funny Car Driver: Ulf Leanders (SWE)
Pro Modified Driver: Urban Johansson (SWE)

FIA African Rally Championship
Patrick Emontspool (BEL) / Alain Robert (FRA)

FIA Middle East Rally Championship
Nasser Saleh Al-Attiyah (QTR) / Chris Patterson (GB)

FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship
Cody Crocker (GB) / Ben Atkinson (GB)

FIA European Rally Championship
Giandomenico Basso (ITA) / Mitia Dotta (ITA)

FIA Karting World Championship for Drivers
1st: Davide Fore (ITA)
2nd: Michael Christensen (DK)
3rd: Sauro Cesetti (ITA)
Team: Tony Kart Racing Team (ITA)