Red Bull stuns F1 with all-new Toro Rosso lineup

Red Bull has stunned the F1 world by ousting existing drivers Jaime Alguersuari and Sebastien Buemi and installing an all-new lineup for its second team Toro Rosso. The Faenza based team announced that its new drivers are Australian Daniel Ricciardo (22) and Frenchman Jean-Eric Vergne (21).

“It will be the first time since the team’s 2006 debut that it will begin the year with an all new lineup,” the statement read.

Ricciardo made his grand prix debut mid-season with HRT, thanks to a deal between the struggling team and Red Bull.

Vergne, meanwhile, impressed at the wheel of the championship-winning RB7 during last month’s young driver test in Abu Dhabi, and he also practiced on Fridays late this season.

“I must thank Sebastien Buemi and Jaime Alguersuari for all their hard work over the past three seasons,” said team boss Franz Tost. “They have delivered some excellent performances which have helped the team move forward and develop.

“However, one has to remember that when Scuderia Toro Rosso was established in 2005, it was done so with the intention of providing a first step into formula one for the youngsters in the Red Bull junior driver programme.

“It is therefore part of the team’s culture to change its driver lineup from time to time in order to achieve this goal,” added Tost.