Haug: Alonso penalty not team mistake

Norbert Haug has insisted that Alonso’s stop and go penalty incurred during the Canadian Grand Prix was not because either the Spaniard or the team forgot the rules. Haug has told RTL that Alonso had to come in that lap, regardless of whether the pit lane was officially open or not, because otherwise he would have run out of fuel.

“If your tank is empty then you have no choice,” Haug explained. Haug is baffled about Ferrari’s total lack of form recently. “When you think about where they were in very recent times and where they are today, I have to admit that right at the moment, I cannot completely understand it.”