Chaos at start of Tuesday’s test session

Nine Formula 1 teams were in action yesterday in the testing session at Jerez. It came as little surprise to see the McLaren-Mercedes of Lewis Hamilton topping the timesheet, closely followed by team-mate Pedro de la Rosa.

The start of the test session did not go as smoothly as was planned cars were heading for the pit exit at 9am when the lights went red, as a worker aiding development work on the last corner s run-off area, ahead of this weekend s MotoGP race, was seen walking on the track.

It was the second day of testing for Williams as they signed off a front wing development having had problems with it in earlier test runs. Nakajima put in a good performance to finish with the fourth fastest time of the day, whilst team-mate Rosberg had a minor off and ended up in fifth place.

Mark Webber s RB4 continued to sport the shark fin engine cover and ended up in seventh place despite a rocky start to the session when the lights went red on the pit-lane, the Aussie driver stalled his car and had to be recovered back to his pit garage before he could start his car up again.

The test session also saw two red flags the first was caused by Alex Wurz who went off at the first corner late on in the morning; the second was caused by Sebastien Vettel when he went off at Turn 10.

Unofficial Times (12/02/2008)

Pos  Driver        Team                   Time     Laps
 1.  Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes       1:19.102   89
 2.  de la Rosa    McLaren-Mercedes       1:19.287   88
 3.  Kubica        BMW-Sauber             1:19.539   91
 4.  Nakajima      Williams-Toyota        1:19.601   93
 5.  Piquet        Renault                1:19.660  120
 6.  Heidfeld      BMW-Sauber             1:19.958   94
 7.  Webber        Red Bull-Renault       1:20.013  113
 8.  Rosberg       Williams-Toyota        1:20.029  125
 9.  Vettel        Toro Rosso-Ferrari     1:20.105   53
10.  Coulthard     Red Bull-Renault       1:20.176  111
11.  Bourdais      Toro Rosso-Ferrari     1:20.418   82
12.  Barrichello   Honda                  1:21.133   71
13.  di Grassi     Renault                1:21.200   92
14.  Sato          Super Aguri-Honda      1:21.400   90
15.  Liuzzi        Force India-Ferrari    1:21.553  103
16.  Wurz          Honda                  1:21.950   86

Most Popular

To Top