Annual Autosport Awards

The Annual Autosport Awards were held in London last night at the Grosvenor House Hotel. Amongst the guests was Markus Gronholm who turned up in his WRC car having just come from victory at the Rally of Great Britain.

Fernando Alonso, not present at last night’s event, was name International Racing Driver of the Year, with Britain’s latest Formula 1 driver, Lewis Hamilton, named Rookie of the Year. Jenson Button picked up the British Competition Driver award and went to collect his honour brandishing a meat pie – payback for compaire Steve Ryder who was forced to eat humble pie after accusing Button last year as being a ‘no hoper’.

A notable absensentee was Sebastien Loeb who was not there to pick up his Rally Driver of the Year award.