All three Force India drivers racing for 2012 seats

All three of the drivers currently under contract to Force India – Nico Hulkenberg, Adrian Sutil and Paul di Resta – are in the running for the two race seats next year according to the team’s chief operating officer Otmar Szafnauer.

Told by Auto Motor und Sport that having three fast drivers in contention for two seats is a problem for Force India, Szafnauer insisted: “It’s a good problem.”

He admitted that Sutil, di Resta and Hulkenberg are all “so close together” in terms of laptime.

“Shall we toss a coin? At the end of the year we will do an accurate analysis of the three and then take our decision,” said Szafnauer.

Meanwhile, he said he is happy with the team’s technical collaboration with McLaren, where Force India buys the complete gearbox and hydraulics.

“With those parts you cannot win a race, but you can lose a race. So it (the collaboration) means we can concentrate on the aerodynamics, where there is the greatest benefit,” said Szafnauer.

“If I’m asked how much energy we use talking about the gearbox or the hydraulics, I answer ‘never’. That is up to McLaren.”


Most Popular

To Top