FORUMula1.com - F1 Forum

Discuss the sport you love with other motorsport fans

Just as it says...
By geetface9
I'm looking to buy a new motorcycle in the next month or two once I sell my current one. I have a 2002 yamaha v star 650 custom with 18" ape hangers on it and it is my first bike and I've been riding for two years this month. I've never crashed, laid it down, or even dropped it. Had a close call the other day with dropping it because I didn't quite have the kickstand all the way down so I gotta stay modest so I don't jinx it! :blush: I want to switch to a sportbike because I want something a lot faster. Don't get me wrong, I love my bike and ape hangers too. It makes all the Mexicans in my neighborhood way jealous. They wave and nod all the time when I ride by 8-)8-)8-) and I get depressed thinking about not having it any more. I've just kind of lost the excitement of riding lately though, I don't look forward to it nearly as much as I did three months ago and I think that's because I want something sportier and fast.

This is pretty much what my bike looks like except the handlebars are black and they're perpendicular with the ground so they stick straight up instead of leaning towards the seat.

I wanted to start with a sportbike initially but the insurance was going to be over $100/month USD as I was 24 at the time and had no riding experience so I picked a cruiser because the insurance was only $330 per YEAR!! So I was like BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM!!!