FORUMula1.com - F1 Forum

Discuss the sport you love with other motorsport fans

Questions and answers about going to a race weekend
Hi everyone,
Firstly I’d just like to say hello as I am a newbie on here. I’m going to my first GP at Silverstone this year with my Brother(I can’t wait!!) and have been getting loads of useful tips and info of here as to what to expect and what to do etc. The question I have is about the park and ride. We have booked weekend general admission tickets and will be using the park and ride from Sixfields Stadium. Does anybody know if the buses take you straight into the venue (as we would already have had to show our passes to get onto the bus), or do they just drop you off at the main entrance and we will have to queue up to get in there. I’m thinking more of the Sunday really, do I need to be on that first bus leaving at 5.30am for any chance of getting a good spot, so we would have to be looking at getting to the park and ride at about 5am to join the queue for the first bus? Also are there any tips or advice for me from anybody that have used the park and ride before. :)
I've never got the park and ride, so I cant really answer that bit with any real authority. However, when I have camped there, I am sure I have seen the coaches dropping off people outside the gates, and people still needing to show their tickets to get into the course.

As for timings; the first year we went, when we just had GA tickets, we queued for gates open (6am {or was it 5am?!?}), to enable us to get a good spot, and it definitely fills us quick in the decent spots.

My advice would be, as an F1 fan, get up and to site as early as possible. Even if you get there too early, at least you've given yourself the best chance, and will have a brilliant day - all for just losing a few hours sleep that you can catch up with anytime.

edit: Just checked - gates open 6am.