FORUMula1.com - F1 Forum

Discuss the sport you love with other motorsport fans

Discuss your own car, automotive news and latest supercar launches.
I went to get something to eat the other day and I ran across a new type of soda dispensing machine. It was, well it was beautiful and immediately I noticed that it was designed/built by Pininfarina.

I've been a a student of design all of my life, I'm into mid century furniture and have a book at home that I reference just about every week, called 1000 chairs. Because just about every designer I follow has at some point created an iconic chair.

The thing with good design, classic design is that it doesn't really add any more cost to an item than bad design. Yet it can make or break the success of a product so I'm puzzled at to why we don't always make things beautiful? This Coke machine for example is beautiful to look at, it impacts the way you use it, the way you perceive it. I always loved the look of Olivetti typewriters, they were gorgeous, shitty but gorgeous, an example once again of design being so important in the success of a product or brand. So back to this idea of a soda dispensing machine... if a Coke machine can feel visually visceral, what does that say about the power of good design in an automobile?

Giorgetto Giugiaro is by far my favorite automotive designer. If you've never heard of him you'll be amazed as to how many cars you've looked at and liked, that have come out from tip of this guy's pen.

Do you know who's responsible for designing the look of your favorite car? Chances are it was one of this design studios. Notice that a good chunk of them are Italian. umpalumpa, sells. :yes:

Alfa Romeo Design Italy
Arup Vehicle Design UK
Bertone Italy
Chrysler Design USA
Cliff Design Sweden
Design Q England
Design Storz Austria
Designworks California USA
Drive England
DSN Italy
Fioravanti Italy
Foresee California USA
Hareide Design Oslo & Gothenburg
IDEA Italy
Inovo Italy
Ital Design Italy