FORUMula1.com - F1 Forum

Discuss the sport you love with other motorsport fans

Dedicated to technical discussion...
I was watching the Singapore practice sessions and I have a couple questions-

1. Why do they put covers over the tires when they back the car into the garage between runs?
2. What is the purpose of the blowers (they kind of look like leave blowers) that they attach to each wheel in the garage? Do they blow heat or cool air?
3. Where can I find something that tells more about the steering wheel and what all the buttons/gauges do?

thanks!

1. Why do they put covers over the tires when they back the car into the garage between runs?
2. What is the purpose of the blowers (they kind of look like leave blowers) that they attach to each wheel in the garage? Do they blow heat or cool air?
3. Where can I find something that tells more about the steering wheel and what all the buttons/gauges do?

thanks!

I'm not an expert on the technical side of F1, but I'll have a jolly good try, seeing as no-one else has replied yet:

1. The covers are called tyre blankets, they keep the tyres warm, so they can reach optimum performance level quicker than if the cars were sent out with cold tyres.

2. The blowers? I think they sometimes put them in the cockpit sometimes too. Cold air I think.

3. More info on steering wheels can be found on various dedicated F1 sites. If you type in F1 steering wheel in Google, then no doubt all the required info will be available to you.