FORUMula1.com - F1 Forum

Discuss the sport you love with other motorsport fans

Dedicated to technical discussion...
By Myk
Hello,

Hoping some one out there can help me with this as i have no technical experience or insight what so-ever but i cant get my head round this......

As the new cars are being shown off, asthetically the big change between Mclaren and Ferrari is the lip on the nose which Mclaren have gone without. Aswell as Ferrari, the other teams that have released the new car have gone with the lip aswell?

Can someone tell me if Mclaren has missed a trick by not having the lip or have they outdoen the rest of the teams by engineering it without - also, what difference does it make on the downforce with/without it????

Much appreciated
By scotty
The reason for the teams running the bump is so that they can run a slightly higher nose under the new regulations for 2012. Basically this bump ultimately gives a nose design that allows more air into that area of the car which can then be distributed as necessary, usually around to the diffuser at the rear of the car. McLaren obviously don't feel this is necessary for them to be able to create the levels of downforce they are after. Modern aerodynamics isn't about one single large part, it's about lots of small ones linked together and most importantly how they are linked together to complement each other.

So at this stage it isn't possible to say an approach is right or wrong, just a different philosophy of creating downforce on the car. Obviously we'll see any difference (if any) in performance on track...
By Myk
Scotty / Bud,

Thanks for the replies, greatly appreciated.

I understand that it all depends on how the rest of the car is set up along with the nose which will affect the downforce but what im trying to understand is why the completley different approaches and what is the benefit of each compared to the other if we were just looking at the nose design in itself??