Lead Articles

Webber on top as Red Bull quickest once more

Red Bull Racing re-established its dominance in Hungary, as Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel topped Saturday’s final practice session.

Both drivers traded fastest laps throughout the session, but it was Webber who came out on top – with a time of 1:19.954s, around half a second ahead of his team-mate

Although Fernando Alonso had been able to split the duo in Friday’s afternoon session, he was unable to get anywhere near the lead RB6, which ended the hour more than a second ahead of the Ferrari driver.

However, the second Ferrari of Felipe Massa faired even worse, with the Brazilian’s car having to undergo changes to its rear suspension as well a change in rear wing. Despite this, the 29-year-old still managed to get into the top-ten with a late lap, pipping Lewis Hamilton’s McLaren for fifth.

Robert Kubica continued to build on Renault’s promising start to the weekend in fourth, while team-mate Vitaly Petrov underlined the performance of the Enstone-based team in seventh – despite twice adventuring off the road.

Jenson Button proved worse of all the title rivals in ninth, as the reigning world champion’s best time was nearly 1.9 seconds off the pace.

Although the session passed without any real incident, with Bruno Senna’s off at turn 14 providing the only real on-track drama, there was even more problems for Force India as Tonio Liuzzi missed the second half of the session with a driveshaft problem.

Pos  Driver       Car                   Time       Gap       Laps
1.   Webber        Red Bull-Renault     1:19.574s            17
2.   Vettel        Red Bull-Renault     1:20.058s  + 0.484s  15
3.   Alonso        Ferrari              1:20.724s  + 1.150s  19
4.   Kubica        Renault              1:21.066s  + 1.492s  19
5.   Massa         Ferrari              1:21.264s  + 1.690s  16
6.   Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes     1:21.376s  + 1.802s  17
7.   Petrov        Renault              1:21.399s  + 1.825s  15
8.   Rosberg       Mercedes             1:21.422s  + 1.848s  18
9.   Button        McLaren-Mercedes     1:21.473s  + 1.899s  18
10.  Hulkenberg   Williams-Cosworth     1:21.513s  + 1.939s  18
11.  Barrichello  Williams-Cosworth     1:21.705s  + 2.131s  19
12.  Schumacher   Mercedes              1:21.939s  + 2.365s  15
13.  de la Rosa   Sauber-Ferrari        1:22.151s  + 2.577s  21
14.  Kobayashi    Sauber-Ferrari        1:22.337s  + 2.763s  20
15.  Alguersuari  Toro Rosso-Ferrari    1:22.427s  + 2.853s  19
16.  Buemi        Toro Rosso-Ferrari    1:22.508s  + 2.934s  22
17.  Sutil        Force India-Mercedes  1:22.918s  + 3.344s  14
18.  Liuzzi       Force India-Mercedes  1:23.708s  + 4.134s  8
19.  di Grassi    Virgin-Cosworth       1:24.547s  + 4.973s  19
20.  Trulli       Lotus-Cosworth        1:24.576s  + 5.002s  22
21.  Kovalainen   Lotus-Cosworth        1:24.623s  + 5.049s  22
22.  Glock        Virgin-Cosworth       1:24.805s  + 5.231s  17
23.  Senna        HRT-Cosworth          1:26.479s  + 6.905s  21
24.  Yamamoto     HRT-Cosworth          1:27.176s  + 7.602s  21

Most Popular

To Top