If a F1 car is touched by a marshall your out, wrong?

Celebrate over sixty years of F1 - your memories, experiences and opinions.
elcoat
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Jun 07, 19:35

If a F1 car is touched by a marshall your out, wrong?

Postby elcoat »

Anyone remember who this rule applies to?
certom
Posts: 1374
Joined: 08 May 06, 19:24
Location: wish I were in Maranello...

Postby certom »

MS in jerez 97, irvine in monaco 96... sorry mate...what are u asking?! :o
Image

ORGOGLIO FERRARI

VOLVO DRIVER 8)
User avatar
madbrad
Posts: 3194
Joined: 04 Mar 07, 00:34
Location: Pickering ON Canada

Postby madbrad »

Is it a mere touch that DQs you or is it real help such as a push?
sent from my supercray using assembler.
_______________________________



Image
DON'T FEED THE TROLLS!
certom
Posts: 1374
Joined: 08 May 06, 19:24
Location: wish I were in Maranello...

Postby certom »

i think the marshalls are allowed to push the car when it stucks in the sand for example
Image

ORGOGLIO FERRARI

VOLVO DRIVER 8)
User avatar
7UpJordan
Posts: 7368
Joined: 18 Jan 07, 19:49
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Postby 7UpJordan »

Ayrton Senna 1989?
Image
"And Mansell was lucky not to be taken off by that RIDICULOUS bit of driving by Alliot!!" - James Hunt
"AAAAAND into the pitlane..... OHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!" - Murray Walker
User avatar
madbrad
Posts: 3194
Joined: 04 Mar 07, 00:34
Location: Pickering ON Canada

Postby madbrad »

certom wrote:i think the marshalls are allowed to push the car when it stucks in the sand for example

Now that would definitely DQ you. It's OK to do it just to extract yourself and get it to the garage, but your race is over.
sent from my supercray using assembler.
_______________________________



Image
DON'T FEED THE TROLLS!
certom
Posts: 1374
Joined: 08 May 06, 19:24
Location: wish I were in Maranello...

Postby certom »

oh i didn't know it...but since this year or since when?
Image

ORGOGLIO FERRARI

VOLVO DRIVER 8)
User avatar
darwin dali
Forum Queen
Posts: 26941
Joined: 18 Mar 06, 02:56

Postby darwin dali »

Wasn't it that you can have the marshalls push you out of a danger zone and if you're able to continue, you're allowed to finish the race? At least, that was the case with MS. Did this change?
Image Le coeur a ses raisons que la raison ne connaît point. Image
User avatar
madbrad
Posts: 3194
Joined: 04 Mar 07, 00:34
Location: Pickering ON Canada

Postby madbrad »

What's a dangerous place?

good lord 2 people are going ot argue about whether MS hit JV on purpose aren't they?
sent from my supercray using assembler.
_______________________________



Image
DON'T FEED THE TROLLS!
User avatar
Stephen
Site Admin
Posts: 2197
Joined: 24 Sep 05, 12:47
Favourite Driver: Kimi Raikkonen
Favourite Team: McLaren

Postby Stephen »

And Schumi, Nurburgring, but the year escapes me.
User avatar
Flyer23
Posts: 95
Joined: 05 Jun 07, 11:35
Location: North East, USA

Postby Flyer23 »

a driver is only DQ if a marshall pushes the vihicle and it restarts, unless of course your name is Schumacher...... :shock:
Felipe Massa 2007 World Champion
elcoat
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Jun 07, 19:35

Postby elcoat »

yes your all right as long as your names Schumacher......
User avatar
7UpJordan
Posts: 7368
Joined: 18 Jan 07, 19:49
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Postby 7UpJordan »

elcoat wrote:yes your all right as long as your names Schumacher......

Michael or Ralf? :P
Image
"And Mansell was lucky not to be taken off by that RIDICULOUS bit of driving by Alliot!!" - James Hunt
"AAAAAND into the pitlane..... OHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!" - Murray Walker
aboldero
Posts: 156
Joined: 29 Jun 07, 17:34
Location: gloucester, uk

Postby aboldero »

if the car is pushed from what is judged to be a dangerous position, (i.e. beached on kerb) then the driver may continue wether it restarts or not. If the car is judged to be out of harms way (i.e. on the edge of the back of the gravel) then it is judged to be out of the race and will be black flagged if the driver continues. ultimately it's upto the race stewards.
User avatar
Stephen
Site Admin
Posts: 2197
Joined: 24 Sep 05, 12:47
Favourite Driver: Kimi Raikkonen
Favourite Team: McLaren

Postby Stephen »

Ok then, here's an example, if Albers moved over to the side of the track like he did last weekend with fuel hose trailing. Could he rejoin if a marshal removed the hose? Or is that not allowed?