FORUMula1.com - F1 Forum

Discuss the sport you love with other motorsport fans

Discuss your own car, automotive news and latest supercar launches.
Hey Everyone

So a while ago I bought my first manual transmission car, and it's been a lot of fun. I've had some experience with manuals on friends' cars, and was familiar with them from general auto interest, so I got the basics pretty quickly. But now I'm researching the topic of engine braking, with respect to safety and general car wear. It has been extremely frustrating, because I've found people equally adamant that either method is totally unacceptable. There are people who swear engine braking is the "proper" way to drive and doesn't wear the engine or transmission at all, assuming you can match the RPM's to the transmission well enough to not slip the clutch [see the top answer on this page]. And then there are people whose arguments seem ok on the surface, but lack any actual evidence, such as "brakes cost less than an engine and transmission, so I don't engine brake" or "engine braking doubles the wear on the transmission because you use it twice as much".

Anyway, just wanted to pose the question here, because I know there are a lot of car enthusiasts, and a lot of you really know your s***.
I don't see why there would be a problem, if you did it properly, matched the revs appropriately and such. If not you could damage the clutch, or far more likely just wear it faster (i think this is the biggest potential problem area). I think the one thing about engine braking however, is that you might use a little more fuel. Emphasis on a little.

"engine braking doubles the wear on the transmission because you use it twice as much" - yeah this argument makes no sense, cause you aren't actually using it any more times :confused: Still one gear shift to change gear...

Don't take what i say here as gospel cause i never really looked into this exact thing myself, but the above is my conclusion by my logic.