Car 70/30%
24%
Driver 60/40%
8%
Car 60/40%
16%
Driver & Car 50/50
13%
I'm a driver not a magician, was a quote from Jarno Trulli about his chances with Lotus this year. What's your opinion on how much effect a good driver in a mediocre car or a weaker driver in a competitive car has on lap times?

It's clear that this can be a completely different poll in a qualifying versus race environment because so many other factors come into play during a race, so let's keep this based only on qualifying lap times.

*Because there are only 10 poll options I left out the Driver 100% and Car 100% options since they're the most unrealistic.
*Because there are only 10 poll options I left out the Driver 100% and Car 100% options since they're the most unrealistic.

Driver 100% and car 100% is actually 50-50 :)

If you want to improve on the poll, change the options to something like this:

Driver - Car
10 - 90 %
25 - 75 %
50 - 50 %
75 - 25 %
90 - 10 %
20% Driver 80% Car. Maybe even a higher percentage to the car.

If you put an Alonso or a Hamilton in a Hispania they'd still be near or at the back wouldn't they?

Driver 100% and car 100% is actually 50-50 :)

If you want to improve on the poll, change the options to something like this:

Driver - Car
10 - 90 %
25 - 75 %
50 - 50 %
75 - 25 %
90 - 10 %

I though about it, and they're both limited in a way. I chose the way I broke it down ultimately because it's basically your same idea but I could put a couple more options to get it a bit more granular.

If you put an Alonso or a Hamilton in a Hispania they'd still be near or at the back wouldn't they?

:yes: In fact, i think the drivers are pretty much equal, compared to the cars... they have a HUGE margin.